• 4 Allée d’Alsace 40530 Labenne Océan
  • +262 692369208 Jaya
  • +262 692559297 Maheswari
  • centrejayayoga@gmail.com

CHAKRAS 1st level, Their location and their meaning


1st Level

Health – Energy

Meaning of the concept

Chakra : a sanskrit word meaning = wheel
The chakra is an active principle vibrating at a definite frequency. It can be compared to an energy vortex that put into interaction the body (organs, nervous plexus and different apparatus such as neuro-muscular, circulatoiry, respiratory and hormonal systems) as well as psychic centers with electromagnetic fields from all sorts of external sources (human, objects and elements).

They are thus as well physiological centers as psychic vortex.

In each human being exists a great quantity of chakras, but only the major ones are used for the practice of Tantra and Yoga.


According to the esoteric standard tradition, seven chakras can be itemized.

1) Mooladhara Chakra

2) Swadhisthana Chakra

3) Manipura Chakra

4) Anahata Chakra

5) Vishuddha Chakra or (vishuddhi)

6) Ajna Chakra

7) Sahasrara Chakra

 according to some others traditions, only five chakras are to be found, Swadhisthana Chakra and Sahasrara Chakra are not mentioned. The last one is not considered as a chakra even though it is classified as.
It stands for the peak of ascent and the climax of unconditioned infinite consciousness.

 in the pranic healing, the art of healing by controlling the prana, a broader array of chakras can be found with hierarchies of major and minor vortex (spleen, kidneys and so on).

 in kundalini yoga, an eighth major chakra can be found.
8) Chandra chakra (bindu visarga)


Mooladhara Chakra
Swadhisthana Chakra
root of the sexual organs
Manipura Chakra
navel area
Anahata Chakra
heart plexus
Vishuddha Chakra
throat center
Ajna Chakra
between the eyebrows
Bindu visarga
on top, at the back of the skull
Sahasrara Chakra
top of the head or above top of the head, three fists length higher


 Mooladhara Chakra (root, fondation)
moola= root dhara= support, earth

 Swadhisthana Chakra (its own dwelling)
Swa= own dhisthana= home

 Manipura Chakra (city of jewels)
Mani= jewels Pura= city

 Anahata Chakra (which never stops)
anahata= not beaten, not striken

 Vishuddha Chakra (center of purity)
vi= center shuddhi= purify

 Ajna Chakra (order, checking center, Guru’s chakra)
ajna= know, obey, follow

 Bindu visarga (fall of the drop)
bindu= drop, dot

 Sahasrara Chakra (infinite consciousness)
sahasrara= one thousand

Summary 1st level

Chakras namesTranslationLocation
Mooladhara root perineum
Swadhisthana its own dwelling root of the sexual organs
Manipura city of jewels navel
Anahata which never stops heart plexus
vishuddha center of purity throat center
Ajna ordering dot between the eyebrows
Bindu visarga fall of the drop top and above top of the head
Sahasrara infinite consciousness top of the skull

le réseau des 72000 nadis et des chakras

Network of 72000 nadis and their chakras

hari om tat sat

Any message or comments?


This forum is moderated before publication: your contribution will only appear after being validated by an administrator.

Who are you?

Your post

To create paragraphs, just leave blank lines.

Hypertext link

(If your message refers to an article published on the web or to a page providing further information, please enter the title of the page and its URL below).