• 4 Allée d’Alsace 40530 Labenne Océan
  • +262 692369208 Jaya
  • +262 692559297 Maheswari
  • centrejayayoga@gmail.com

CHAKRAS 1ST Level, the simple yantras


1ST Level

Chakra are sometimes considered as nervous junctions along side the central channel parallel to the spiral cord over the central nadi called Sushumna Nadi.A chakra can be compared to a power station from which energy routes flow in and out. These routes called the nadi spring from these stations and carry the prana up and down.

In fact their location is very precise and affect areas which can’t be easily reached. To manage to make visible these invisible areas by using consciousness, visualization and concentration strategies are used to make their access awakening possible.

In a few exercises, one strategy consists to activate their sounding centers called Kshetram and situated along two routes :

  • the route at the front of the body AROHAN
  • the route at the back of the body AWAROHAN

Sometimes the scriptures mention the kshetram only for the front route.Chakras have different attributes according to their corresponding levels of consciousness.

There are numerous attributes : the sense organs(jnana indriyas), the five elements (pancha maha bhutas), organs of action (karma indriyas), the numbers of lotus petals, their colours, the bija mantras, the five pranas, the five koshas (sheaths), and so on.
These attributes are introduced on a level basis to make their knowledge easier.

Number of petals

The most common representation of the chakras is the one of the petals of lotus flowers. In the energy concern, one of the explanations provided refers to the aspect shown by a cross section of the spinal cord.

But the lotus flower is also one of the oldest symbol from the eastern tradition. This aquatic flower emerging from the mud, rises out of the water thanks to its stem and symbolises spiritual realization. The number of lotus petals indicates the vibratory level of the chakra. At it rises up along the chakras, the frequency increases significantly.

  • Mooladhara Chakra
    • 4
  • Swasdhisthana Chakra
    • 6
  • Manipura Chakra
    • 10
  • Anahata Chakra
    • 12
  • vishuddha Chakra
    • 16
  • Ajna Chakra
    • 2
  • Sahasrara Chakra
    • 1000


The colours of the lotus petals are linked to the frequences of the chakras. They can be different according to traditions.

  • Mooladhara Chakra
    • red
  • Swasdhisthana Chakra
    • bright red vermilion
  • Manipura Chakra
    • yellow, golden
  • Anahata Chakra
    • blue
  • Vishuddha Chakra
    • purple
  • Ajna Chakr
    • white, silver gray
  • Sahasrara Chakra
    • neutralizes the colours

Yantras simples

According to the tantric iconography, among the various representations of the individual and the universe, abstract forms or psycho-cosmic diagrammes can be found; they are the yantras and mandalas. In the tantric abstraction, yantras and mandalas make concrete the energy flows and the dynamic links by the combination of elementary shapes.
They are conceived as meditation supports in the shape either of divine aspect or a personification, or a model for the cult of an inner deity, or a map or pattern allowing the gradual evolution of a vision for identification to the Self.
The yantra is therefore an instrument intended to orientate the psychic forces by concentrating them on a pattern.

  • Mooladhara Chakra
    • yellow square

      yantra simple of mooladhara chakra

  • Swasdhisthana Chakra
    • crescent of silver moon

      yantra simple of swadhisthana

  • Manipura Chakra
    • inverted red triangle

      yantra simple of manipura chakra

  • Anahata Chakra
    • grey bluish star with six branches

      yantra simple of anahata chakra

  • Vishuddha Chakra
    • white circle

      yantra simple of Vishuddha chakra

  • Ajna Chakra
    • light grey circle

      yantra simple of ajna chakra

  • Bindu visarga
    • moon crescent and dot

      yantra simple of bindu visarga

  • Sahasrara Chakra
    • Beyond

      yantra simple of Sahasrara

chakras namesnumber of petalscolours of petalsyantras
Mooladhara 4 Red Yellow square
Swasdhisthana 6 Bright red Crescent of silver moon
Manipura 10 Yellow golden Inverted red triangle
Anahata 12 blue Star with six smoke greyed branches
vishuddha 16 Purple White circle
Ajna 2 White, silver gray Light grey circle
Bindu visarga 0 argent Moon crescent and dot
Sahasrara 1000 Multi coloured or neutral Beyond

Simples Yantras and their colors

Any message or comments?


This forum is moderated before publication: your contribution will only appear after being validated by an administrator.

Who are you?

Your post

To create paragraphs, just leave blank lines.

Hypertext link

(If your message refers to an article published on the web or to a page providing further information, please enter the title of the page and its URL below).